Rubber
as a construction material

Rubber has special properties to offer in comparison with other construction materials. The elongation in some cases can be more than 1,000% and for the most part in the elastic range. Metals, by contrast, have very low strain values below the limit of elasticity.

The tensile strength of rubber is fairly low, however, in comparison with metals. The maximum which can be reached with rubber is 25-30 MPa. Due to its high stretching properties, however, rubber has a very high working capacity in contrast to the best grades of steel. If a body is subject to load below the limit of elasticity, the strain will be proportional to the load according to Hooke’s law of elasticity. This applies to rubber under tension and pressure and means that rubber does not have a constant modulus of elasticity in extension or compression

Metals usually become more pliable towards the end of a tensile test. The reaction in rubber is usually the opposite. Rubber has no yield point, and the modulus increases until the break suddenly occurs.

A.) The high level of elasticity is therefore the most eminent property of rubber. The ease with which rubber can be deformed is indicated by the fact that the modulus of elasticity in compression for rubber within the normal hardness range of 30-80°IRH is between 2 and 12 MPa while the comparable modulus of elasticity for steel is 210,000. This means that soft rubber is about 100,000 times more pliable than steel.

B.) The buffering capacity of rubber is another important property of the material. It is of particular significance if the resonant range is traversed by a machine mounted on springs.

The resonant travel of a rubber spring is 1/5-1/50 compared with the travel of a steel spring of the same rigidity.

If a rubber spring is subjected to pressure or thrust, the direct energy loss is between 6 and 30%, depending on the hardness of the rubber. This is sufficient for the rubber springs to be used as vibration dampers in many cases. It is important, however, to be careful with the damping action in a rubber shock mount. If load levels are high, a large amount of energy will be converted to heat, which can lead to the destruction of the rubber mount (Fig. 4). Fig. 5 shows the vibration response to single jolts and jerks. The first graph shows the response of a steel spring and the second graph the response of a rubber spring. The graphs show clearly how quickly the vibrations subside in the rubber and how slowly they die out in the steel springs in comparison.

C.) Rubber is one of the best sound insulation materials. The sound insulation increases with the thickness of the rubber. Rubber is excellent at cushioning structure-borne noise which is generated in base plates, floors and buildings, etc.

D.) The high chemical resistance of the rubber is another valuable quality in favour of its use as a cushioning material. Steel springs, by contrast, are easily corroded by humid air and acids.

Rubber is entirely resistant to humid air and commonly occurring acids. The highest temperature to which natural rubber can be continually exposed is about +75°C. Rubber becomes rigid in very low temperatures of between 30 and -40°C, and at even lower temperatures the material becomes very hard, brittle and inelastic. Vibration dampers which may come into contact with oil therefore need to be made of synthetic oil-resistant rubber, but the cushioning properties of this are worse than those of natural rubber. The detrimental effects of oil can be avoided, however, by fitting a mechanical protection or by applying an oil-resistant coating to the rubber.

  • Resonance graph for cushioning materials with different internal damping

    Fig. 3 – Resonance graph for cushioning materials
    with different internal damping


    Resonance graph for cushioning materials with different internal damping

  • Diagram of internal damping of rubber with energy loss indicated by the ellipse

    Fig. 4 – Diagram of internal damping of rubber,
    with energy loss indicated by the ellipse


    Diagram of internal damping of rubber with energy loss indicated by the ellipse

  • Vibration response of steel and rubber springs

    Fig. 5 – Vibration response of steel and rubber springs


    Vibration response of steel and rubber springs

Gummi
als Baustoff

Gummi weist im Vergleich zu anderen Baustoffen besondere Eigenschaften auf. Die Dehnung kann in gewissen Fällen mehr als 1.000 % betragen und zum größten Teil im elastischen Bereich liegen. Metalle dagegen weisen sehr kleine Dehnungswerte unterhalb der Elastizitätsgrenze auf.

Die Zugfestigkeit von Gummi ist jedoch im Vergleich zu Metallen ziemlich niedrig. Maximal kann man bei Gummi 25-30 MPa erreichen. Durch die große Deh­nung besitzt Gummi jedoch eine sehr große Arbeitsaufnahme im Vergleich zu den besten Stählen. Wenn ein Körper einer Belastung unterhalb der Elastizitätsgrenze ausgesetzt wird, ist die Deformation nach dem Hookeschen Elastizitätsgesetz proportional zur Belastung. Diese gilt für Gummi bei Zug und Druck und bedeutet, dass Gummi keinen konstanten Zug- oder Druckelastizitätsmodul besitzt.

Metalle werden gewöhnlich gegen Ende eines Zugversuchs weicher. Bei Gummi verhält es sich meistens umgekehrt. Gummi hat keine Fließgrenze, und der Modul steigt an, bis der Bruch plötzlich eintritt.

A.) Die große elastische Formbarkeit ist somit die hervortretendste Eigenschaft des Gummis. Wie leicht sich Gummi verformen läßt, erkennt man daran, dass der Druckelastizitätsmodul für Gummi innerhalb des normalen Härtebereichs von 30-80°IRH zwischen 2 und 12 MPa liegt, während der Elastizitätsmodul von Stahl den Wert 210.000 hat. Dies bedeutet, dass weicher Gummi etwa 100.000 mal weicher ist als Stahl.

B.) Die Dämpffähigkeit ist eine andere wichtige Eigenschaft des Gummis. Sie ist von besonderer Bedeutung, wenn mit einer auf Federn aufgestellten Maschine der Resonanzbereich durchfahren wird.

Der Resonanzausschlag einer Gummifeder beträgt 1/5-1/50 verglichen mit dem Ausschlag einer Stahl­feder der gleichen Steifigkeit.

Bei einer Gummifeder, die Druck oder Schubbelastun­gen ausgesetzt wird, liegt der direkte Energieverlust zwischen 6 und 30 % abhängig von der Härte des Gummis. Diese Dämpfung ist dermaßen, dass man in vielen Fällen die Gummifedern als Dämpfer benutzen kann. Man muss jedoch mit der Dämpfung in einem Gummielement vorsichtig sein. Bei hoher Belastung wird nämlich viel Energie in Wärme umgewandelt, die zur Zerstörung des Gummielementes führen (Abb. 4). Einzelne Stöße ergeben einen Schwingungsvorgang nach Abb. 5. Die linke Kurve entspricht einer Stahl­feder und die rechte einer Gummifeder. Die Kurven zeigen deutlich, wie schnell die Schwingungen im Gummi abklingen, während sie bei Stahlfedern nur langsam abnehmen.

C.) Gummi ist einer der besten Schalldämmstoffe. Die Wirkung der Schalldämmung steigt mit der Dicke des Gummis. Gummi unterdrückt ausgezeichnet Körperschall, der in Fundamenten, Fußböden, Gebäuden usw. entsteht.

D.) Die große chemische Beständigkeit des Gummis ist eine weitere wertvolle Eigenschaft bei der Verwendung als federnder Werkstoff. Stahlfedern dagegen werden leicht von feuchter Luft und Säuren ange­griffen und rosten.

Gummi ist einwandfrei beständig gegen feuchte Luft und gegen gewöhnlich vorkommende Säuren. Die höchste Temperatur, der Kautschuk dauernd ausgesetzt werden darf, beträgt etwa +75°C. Bei sehr tiefen Temperaturen, 30 bis -40°C, wird Gummi steif; bei noch tieferen Temperaturen wird das Material ganz hart, spröde und unelastisch. Schwingungsdämpfer die mit Öl in Berührung kommen können, brauchen deshalb ölbeständigen synthe­tischen Kautschuk, der jedoch schlechtere Federungseigenschaften als Naturkautschuk besitzt. Schädliche Einflüsse von Öl kann man jedoch vermeiden, in dem man einen mechanischen Schutz anbringt oder den Gummi mit elastischem ölbeständigen Lack anstreicht.

  • Resonanzkurve für Federmaterial

    Abbildung 3 – Resonanzkurve für Federmaterial
    mit verschiedener inner Dämpfung


    Resonanzkurve für Federmaterial

  • Schema der inneren Dämpfung von Gummi

    Abbildung 4 – Schema der inneren Dämpfung von Gummi.
    Die Ellipse gibt den Energieverlust an.


    Schema der inneren Dämpfung von Gummi

  • Schwingungsvorgang bei Stahl- und Gummifedern

    Abbildung 5 – Schwingungsvorgang bei Stahl- und Gummifedern


    Schwingungsvorgang bei Stahl- und Gummifedern



Sprache

Produkte

Hier finden Sie unsere breite Produktauswahl.

Ihr Kontakt

Adam-Riese-Straße 7
73529 Schwäbisch Gmünd
Deutschland

Mail: info@sts-schuster.de
Tel: +49 (0)7171-7983-0
Fax: +49 (0)7171-7983-600